JSPS Alumni Club Award 2021

by board member Dr. Wolfgang Staguhn

JACA Award Ceremony for Professor Dr. Shigeyoshi Inoue on May 8, 2021

The German JSPS Alumni Association awards Professor Dr. Shigeyoshi Inoue with the JSPS Alumni Club Award 2021, the JACA Prize.

The JACA Prize recognizes his commitment and efforts to the scientific exchange between Japan and Germany. The scientific exchange has many facets, including cooperation with working groups, working on joint research topics, the exchange of young scientists and students or the organization of joint conferences. Advice and fostering of contacts outside the expert area is important , e.g. in the wider scientific environment or in politics and society. Professor Shigeyoshi Inoue has made great efforts in all areas and can look back to a wide range of success.

Dr. Inoue is currently a professor at the Technical University of Munich at the Institute for Silicon Chemistry. He is an acknowledged expert in his area of expertise, the research of catalysis and new materials for this purpose and has made an outstanding reputation at a young age. This is confirmed not least by the many awards. The following laudation (download) addresses some of his activities, both in research and for various academic exchange activities between Japan and Germany.

The JACA Prize 2021 includes a flight ticket from ANA and support for rail travel during a 2-week trip, e.g. a 14-day JR Rail Pass for Japan.

Laudation for the award ceremony (210 KB)

Acceptance speech by Prof. Dr. Shigeyoshi Inoue on receiving the JACA 2021 (130 KB)

Report in Neues vom Club 02/2021

Additional link to the working group of Prof. Dr. Shigeyoshi Inoue at the Technical University of Munich:

Neues vom Club 01/2024

JSPS Club Chairman Prof. Dr. Heinrich Menkhaus is awarded the “The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Rosette” (旭日小綬章) of the Japanese Government in 2024.

Club member Prof. Dr. Uwe Czarnetzki is awarded the “Plasma Materials Science Hall of Fame Prize” in March of 2024.

Club member Prof. Dr. med. Tanja Fehm is awarded the “Klüh Foundation Award” 2023