• Deutsch
  • English
  • 日本語


Regionale Treffen des JSPS-Clubs im Raum München / Archiv

Treffen der JSPS Regionalgruppe München (Humboldt Salon), 06 Juni 2018, 19:30

Liebe JSPSler,

Das nächste Treffen der JSPS Regionalgruppe München findet wieder gemeinsam mit dem Humboldt Club (Humboldt Salon) am 06 Juni 2018, 19:30 im IBZ, Amalienstrasse 38, statt. Die Einzelheiten entnehmen Sie bitte der unten angefügten e-Mail des Humboldt Clubs. Bitte melden Sie sich bis zum 04 Juni 2018 direkt bei Herrn Kruhl an.

Mit besten Grüßen
Geerd Diercksen


Dear Humboldtians,

On behalf of the Regional Group Munich of the Deutsche Gesellschaft der Humboldtianer we cordially invite you to the third Humboldt Salon 2018 on June 6, which takes place in the Internationales Begegnungszentrum München (IBZ), as usual.

During the Salon a lecture will be given by Prof. Herman Wasserman (Centre for Film and Media Studies at the University of Cape Town, South Africa) on

South African media after apartheid: local contests, global shifts

As an agent for ongoing change and arena for contestation the South African media have been central to the country’s transition from apartheid to democracy, and in the continued power struggles that mark the post-apartheid era. This presentation will trace the major shifts that the South African media has undergone since the end of apartheid to the end of the Zuma presidency. It will focus on aspects such as the political economy of the post-apartheid media, global flows and contraflows of media into and from South Africa, conflicts over the role of the South African media in a new democracy and new threats to media freedom. Through a discussion of both the local contestations and the global shifts characterizing the post-apartheid media, it will be argued that the case of the South African media provides us with a way to understand the relationship between the local and the global in a changing world.

Herman Wasserman is Professor of Media Studies and Director of the Centre for Film and Media Studies at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. He holds a doctorate from the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, and worked as a journalist before starting an academic career at universities in South Africa and the United Kingdom. He has published widely on media in Africa, with a focus on media ethics and democratisation. His several books include the monographs Tabloid Journalism in South Africa (Indiana University Press, 2010) and Media, Geopolitics, and Power: A View from the South (University of Illinois Press, 2018). Wasserman is editor-in-chief of the academic journal African Journalism Studies published by Taylor and Francis, and sits on the editorial boards of ten other international journals, including the Annals of the International Communication Association, of which he is an Associate Editor. He has been the recipient of several awards for his research, including a Fulbright fellowship at Indiana University in the US, the Neva Prize for Journalism Theory from the St Petersburg State University and the Georg Foster Prize from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany.

Venue:Internationales Begegnungszentrum München (IBZ), Amalienstr. 38, 80799 München
Date: June 6, 2018, 19:30

As usual, snacks and beverages will be available, sponsored by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. In order to facilitate preparations, we kindly ask you to confirm participation and indicate the number of persons attending the Salon, by June 4, 2018, to Mr Kruhl.

With kind regards,
Jörn H. Kruhl and Lutz Cleemann
(Humboldt Club Munich)

Jörn H. Kruhl
Dr.rer.nat., Prof. em. of Geology
Technische Universität München, 80333 Munich, Germany
Currently: Dept. for Earth & Environmental Sciences, LMU, Applied Crystallography and Materials Sciences
Theresienstr. 41, 80333 Munich, Germany
Drawing Geological Structures, 2017, Wiley Blackwell
Living Under the Threat of Earthquakes, 2018, Springer

Neues vom Club 01/2024

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende Prof. Dr. Heinrich Menkhaus erhält 2024 den „Kleinen Orden der Aufgehenden Sonne mit Rosette“ (旭日小綬章) der japanischen Regierung.

Mitglied Prof. Dr. Uwe Czarnetzki wird im März 2024 mit dem „Plasma Materials Science Hall of Fame Prize“ ausgezeichnet.

Mitglied Prof. Dr. med. Tanja Fehm wird 2023 mit der Auszeichnung der Klüh-Stiftung ausgezeichnet