JSPS Alumni Club Award (JACA)

bestowed by the German JSPS Alumni Association (JSPS Club) for the promotion of scientific exchange between Japan and the German-speaking area.

According to its statutes, the aim of the JSPS Club is to promote scientific exchange between Japan and the German-speaking area. The JSPS Club primarily focuses on personal and professional support for the JSPS fellows, the promotion of personal and scientific contacts, active participation in the establishment of fellowship programs, cooperation with scientific and science-funding organizations, as well as collection and dissemination of information in the fields of science, society, and culture.

The activities of the JSPS Club, its members and many friends and supporters significantly contribute to the establishment and continuation of contacts within the sciences as well as between science and society. With around 450 members from many different disciplines in the natural and engineering sciences and the arts, the JSPS Club offers a unique and diverse network of scientists with a connection to Japan and the German-speaking region.

Our goal: By bestowing and presenting the JSPS Alumni Club Award (JACA), the German JSPS Club honors outstanding contributions in exchange, cooperation or network building between Japan and the German-speaking area.

The award is annually presented to up to 2 individuals. Nominations of early-career scientists who have already made significant contributions to exchange between Japan and the German-speaking region are particularly encouraged.

  • The award includes a round-trip airfare from Germany / Switzerland / Austria / Luxembourg to Japan or vice versa.
  • Furthermore, awardees receive a travel allowance (2nd class) of up to 500 EUR.

Restriction: The journey should be started within 9 months after receiving the award.

Neues vom Club 01/2024

JSPS Club Chairman Prof. Dr. Heinrich Menkhaus is awarded the “The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Rosette” (旭日小綬章) of the Japanese Government in 2024.

Club member Prof. Dr. Uwe Czarnetzki is awarded the “Plasma Materials Science Hall of Fame Prize” in March of 2024.

Club member Prof. Dr. med. Tanja Fehm is awarded the “Klüh Foundation Award” 2023